CartSignal
Public-data review · Updated 2026-09-09

Pictory public-data review for creators and small businesses

Pictory sells plans on a big headline number — 7,200 video minutes a year on Professional — but that meter is not what limits you. Generative work draws on a separate AI credit pool, and at Pictory's published rate of 20 credits per second, Professional's 12,000 annual credits buy ten minutes of Veo 3.1 a year. That is 0.14% of the video-minute allowance. The video minutes describe the stock-footage product; credits govern everything AI-generated.

Visit PictoryBack to AI Video
A narrow glass funnel of small green beads releasing them one at a time into a wide, almost empty pale bowl on a dark reflective desk, beside a stack of teal cylinders

Quick verdict

Review type: Public-data review, not hands-on testing. Every price, rate and policy quote below comes from Pictory's official pricing page, API pricing page, help centre and release notes, checked 9 September 2026. The arithmetic is ours and is labelled where it appears.

Pricing note: Plan prices are public and readable — a welcome change from VEED and Fliki, which render theirs client-side. Billed annually: Starter $25/mo, Professional $35/mo, Team $119/mo. Billed monthly: $29, $59, $199. Enterprise is custom. No free plan, only a trial.

Disclosure: No affiliate relationship is recorded for this listing in the local CartSignal data. The link above is Pictory's plain official URL.

What Pictory actually is

Pictory converts source material into finished, captioned video: a script, a blog URL, a PDF, a PowerPoint deck or a long recording goes in, and a branded video with stock footage, captions and a voiceover comes out. That original product is template-and-stock-driven, and it costs no AI credits. The generative layer — AI images, AI video clips, and avatars — was bolted on through 2026 and is metered separately.

Recent additions, from Pictory's own release notes: Custom Avatars and Voice Cloning in May 2026, PDF-to-Video the same month, PowerPoint background animation and AI credit rollover in June 2026, and in July 2026 Video Translation, presenter layouts for avatars, a universal pronunciation dictionary and pause controls for voiceover.

The three meters

This is the part worth understanding before you compare Pictory to anything else. A Pictory plan carries three independent allowances, and they behave differently from each other.

PlanPriceVideo export minutesAI creditsElevenLabs voice minutesStorage / seats
Starter$25/mo billed annually2,400 / yr1,200 / yr720 / yr5 GB, 1 user
Professional$35/mo billed annually7,200 / yr12,000 / yr1,440 / yr20 GB, 1 user
Team$119/mo billed annually21,600 / yr28,800 / yr2,880 / yr100 GB, 3+ users
Starter$29/mo monthly200 / mo100 / mo60 / mo5 GB, 1 user
Professional$59/mo monthly600 / mo500 / mo120 / mo20 GB, 1 user
Team$199/mo monthly1,800 / mo2,400 / mo240 / mo100 GB, 3+ users

Figures are quoted from the plan cards on Pictory's official pricing page, which labels annual allowances "yr" and monthly allowances "mth".

Annual is exactly 12x monthly — except on one cell

Our arithmetic across all eighteen numbers above: every annual allowance is exactly twelve times its monthly counterpart, on every meter, on every tier — with a single exception. Professional annual lists 12,000 credits a year where twelve monthly cycles would give 6,000. That is 1,000 credits a month against 500, double, on the tier that already carries the deepest price cut.

The consequence is that Professional annual is the only sensible way to buy Pictory credits. It costs 40.7% less than Professional monthly and hands over twice the credits. Note also that the "save 40%" banner is only true for the two upper tiers: Starter at $25 against $29 saves 13.8%, not 40%.

The ElevenLabs meter tightens as you move up

Premium voiceover minutes are resold ElevenLabs capacity and are capped independently of everything else. Expressed as a share of the video minutes on the same plan, our arithmetic gives 30.0% on Starter, 20.0% on Professional, 13.3% on Team. The constraint gets proportionally tighter the more you spend — the opposite of the usual pattern, and the reverse of what the rising absolute numbers suggest. If you narrate with ElevenLabs voices, a Team plan lets you use about an eighth of the video minutes you paid for before the voice meter stops you.

Pictory's voiceover-quota article adds that the Teams allowance scales with seat count — 180 minutes at 2 users, 240 at 3, 360 at 4, 420 at 5 — which works out to a wobbling 90, 80, 90 and 84 minutes per seat rather than a flat rate. The 2,880/yr figure on the pricing page corresponds to the 3-user configuration.

The AI credit rate card

Pictory publishes a complete rate card, which puts it ahead of Descript and VEED, neither of which publishes per-action rates. Quoted from the official Understanding AI Credits article, with our per-minute conversion alongside:

FeatureOfficial rateOur conversion
Flux Schnell image (1920×1080)0.6 credits1.67 images per credit
Amazon Titan G1 image0.7 credits1.43 images per credit
ByteDance Seedream image2 credits0.5 images per credit
Google Nano Banana image4 credits0.25 images per credit
Amazon Nova Canvas image4 credits0.25 images per credit
Stock Avatar15 credits / 30 sec30 credits per minute
Custom Avatar35 credits / 30 sec70 credits per minute
Pixverse video (720p)1.6 credits / sec96 credits per minute
Veo 3.1 Fast (1080p)10 credits / sec600 credits per minute
Veo 3.1 (1080p)20 credits / sec1,200 credits per minute

The image models span 6.7x from Flux Schnell to Nano Banana. The video and avatar options span 40x, from 30 credits for a minute of stock avatar to 1,200 for a minute of Veo 3.1.

What that means for the headline allowance

Now put the rate card against the credit pool. Our arithmetic, using the annual plans:

Annual planStock avatarCustom avatarPixverse 720pVeo 3.1 FastVeo 3.1
Starter (1,200 credits)40 min/yr17 min/yr12.5 min/yr2 min/yr1 min/yr
Professional (12,000)400 min/yr171 min/yr125 min/yr20 min/yr10 min/yr
Team (28,800)960 min/yr411 min/yr300 min/yr48 min/yr24 min/yr

A Starter plan buys one minute of Veo 3.1 per year. On monthly Starter, 100 credits is five seconds of Veo 3.1 a month. Against a 2,400-minute annual video allowance, the credit meter binds between 60x and 2,400x tighter depending on which model you pick.

This is not a criticism of the pricing so much as a warning about how it reads. Pictory's video minutes are generous because its core product is stock footage and captions, which costs nothing generative. If you bought Pictory expecting to make AI-generated video at the scale the minute count implies, the credit pool will stop you almost immediately. Buyers whose work is genuinely generative should price it against Kling AI, Runway or Google Veo, which sell video by the second.

Buying more credits

Pictory sells top-up packs, listed in the credits article as recurring monthly bundles at $25/500, $49/1,000, $70/1,500, $135/3,000 and $199/5,000, plus one-time prepaid packs at $25/500, $70/1,500 and $135/3,000. Our per-credit conversion: $0.0500, $0.0490, $0.0467, $0.0450 and $0.0398 — a shallow volume curve bottoming at just under four cents.

The more useful number is the marginal cost of moving up a tier, which is where the real bargain and the real trap both sit:

  • Starter annual to Professional annual: $0.0111 per extra credit. An extra $120 a year buys an extra 10,800 credits — roughly 3.6x cheaper than the best top-up pack, and you get 4,800 more video minutes and 720 more voice minutes thrown in. If you are on Starter annual and short of credits, upgrading is by some distance the cheapest credit on Pictory's entire price list.
  • Professional annual to Team annual: $0.0600 per extra credit. An extra $1,008 a year buys 16,800 credits — more expensive than every top-up pack, including the worst one. Team is worth buying for its seats, storage and video minutes; as a way to buy credits it is the worst option Pictory offers. A Professional annual subscriber who needs more credits should buy packs.

One cross-check worth stating: even if you attribute the entire Professional annual subscription to credits and nothing to video minutes, storage or voice, the blended rate is $0.0350 per credit — still cheaper than the $0.0398 floor on top-up packs. Starter annual blended is $0.2500, roughly 6.3x that floor.

Routing Veo through Pictory costs about twice Google's list price

Pictory resells Veo 3.1, so the markup is computable. Google's Gemini API pricing, as recorded on our Google Veo page, lists Veo 3.1 at $0.40 per second at 1080p and Veo 3.1 Fast at $0.12. Bought through Pictory at the cheapest marginal credit rate ($0.0398 from the 5,000 pack), the same second costs about $0.80 on Veo 3.1 and $0.40 on Veo 3.1 Fast — roughly 2x and 3.3x Google's list. At Starter annual's blended rate the multiples reach 12.5x and 20.8x.

That premium buys the editor, the stock library, captioning and the template system around the model, which is a real product. It does not buy cheaper model access, and anyone whose bottleneck is raw generation volume should call the model directly.

Rollover: three meters, three different policies

Pictory is the only tool costed out on this site whose meters disagree with each other about carry-over. All three quotes are from official pages:

  • AI credits roll over. The credits article states that "unused credits from one cycle roll over to the next cycle" and that "credits once purchased never expire for as long as you have an active subscription with us". Annual subscribers are described as receiving their full-year credits at purchase or renewal, so on annual billing the credit pool is a genuine twelve-month pool, not a monthly quota.
  • Video minutes renew monthly. The video-minute article says "your video quota will renew on the 1st of each month, as usual". It does not state whether unused minutes carry forward, which is a gap worth asking about.
  • Premium voice minutes do not roll over. The voiceover article is explicit: "the quota resets on the 1st of each month" and "unused minutes do not roll over to the next month".

The rollover on credits is recent — Pictory's release notes record "AI credit rollover support for eligible subscription plans" in June 2026. Pictory does not publish which plans are eligible, so confirm it applies to yours. Where it does apply it is the most forgiving credit policy of any tool costed out here: Synthesia credits never roll over, Fliki's reset monthly despite an annual headline, HeyGen carries one cycle, Descript's two meters carry nothing, and VEED's carry a year only on annual billing.

There is a reading trap in the combination. On an annual Professional plan the pricing page shows "7,200 minutes yr" and "12,000 AI credits/yr" side by side, in the same visual style — but per Pictory's own help centre the credits are a real annual pool while the video minutes renew on the 1st of each month, which makes them 600 a month. Two numbers, presented identically, behaving differently.

How video minutes are counted

Better news, and the mirror image of Descript. Descript meters footage going in, so a 90-minute recording costs 90 media hours even if you publish a 20-minute cut. Pictory meters video coming out: previews, edits and in-account sharing are free, and the quota is deducted on export.

Pictory goes further than most in one respect. Its video-minute article states that "we will only deduct from your video minutes quota for the initial video download of each project" and that "subsequent downloads within the same project will not affect your quota". Re-exporting a project after edits is free. That is unusually generous — it means iterating on a cut costs nothing after the first download, which is exactly the workflow that runs up bills elsewhere.

Two limits the same documentation records: text-to-video, URL-to-video, images-to-video and PPT-to-video cap at 30 minutes of output, rising to 3 hours on Professional and Teams. Pictory does not state publicly how partial minutes are rounded.

The two contradictions

Both of these are between Pictory's own official pages, and both are worth resolving with sales before you buy.

1. Whether Starter gets ElevenLabs voices. The pricing page's Starter card advertises "720 minutes of ElevenLab's AI voices in 29 languages" on annual billing, and "60 minutes" on monthly. The voiceover-quota help article says Premium voices — which it identifies as ElevenLabs-powered — are "exclusively available to users on Professional and Teams plans", and that Starter users can preview but not apply them. Its quota list names only the free trial (5 minutes), Professional (120) and Teams; Starter does not appear.

The disagreement runs in both directions, which is what makes it look like an error rather than a stale page. The pricing page grants Starter ElevenLabs minutes but is the only plan card that does not list "unlimited standard voices in 7 languages" — while the help article says Starter users "have unrestricted access to dozens of high-quality Standard voices" and no premium ones. The two documents describe close to opposite products. Note that the Professional and Team figures reconcile cleanly (1,440/yr = 120/month, matching the help article exactly), so the conflict is specific to Starter.

2. What the API's credit top-up actually sells. The API pricing page states that "additional credits can be added to each plan as necessary. The self serve plan is 120 credits for $49." Read literally as AI credits that is $0.408 each, roughly 8x the app's $49-for-1,000 pack. But the API plans state their allowances in video minutes, not credits, so the sentence more likely prices 120 video minutes. We are not publishing a rate for this — the unit is genuinely ambiguous on the official page.

The API is a 2.26x premium for identical allowances

Pictory sells a separate Video API. Its self-serve plan lists at $79 a month billed annually for 7,200 video minutes and 1,440 ElevenLabs voiceover minutes a year, or $99 monthly for 600 video minutes and 120 voice minutes. Enterprise is custom with a one-time setup fee and usage-based monthly billing.

Set that beside the app. Professional annual costs $35 a month for exactly the same 7,200 video minutes and 1,440 ElevenLabs minutes. The API therefore costs 2.26x the app price for identical stated allowances, and 1.68x on monthly billing. The premium is purely for programmatic access.

That places Pictory alongside ElevenLabs, HeyGen and Synthesia, where the two meters diverge, rather than with Runway and VEED, whose app and API rates match. Unlike Synthesia — whose API at 75 credits per minute is 37.5% cheaper than its own editor — Pictory's API is the expensive door.

Open questions to verify with Pictory

  • Whether Starter can use ElevenLabs voices at all. The pricing page and help centre flatly disagree. This is the single most important thing to confirm if you are buying Starter for narration.
  • Which plans are "eligible" for credit rollover. Announced in June 2026 with that qualifier and never elaborated publicly.
  • Whether unused video minutes carry forward. The article confirms a monthly renewal but is silent on carry-over.
  • What the API's "120 credits for $49" buys. Credits or video minutes; the difference is roughly 8x.
  • How partial minutes are rounded on export. Not addressed in public documentation.

Who it is for

Pictory suits volume repurposing from text and long recordings better than almost anything else on this site. If your job is turning blog posts, PDFs, webinars and decks into captioned, branded, stock-footage video, the video-minute allowances are large, exports after the first are free, and credits are irrelevant because that workflow consumes none. Professional annual at $35 a month for 600 exported minutes a month is a strong rate for that specific job.

It suits generative-first video work poorly, and the pricing page does not make that obvious. Ten minutes of Veo 3.1 a year on the mid tier is a garnish, not a production capability. For AI-generated footage at volume, Kling AI, Runway and Google Veo sell by the second with no editor markup.

For presenter-led avatar video, Pictory's 15 and 35 credits per 30 seconds are worth costing against the dedicated tools in HeyGen alternatives and best AI avatar video tools, where HeyGen and Synthesia publish per-minute avatar rates directly. For narration priced per minute rather than rationed by a resold quota, see the AI voice category and ElevenLabs itself. The wider field is in the best AI video tools roundup and the AI video category. If you publish into the EU, note that avatar and voice-cloned output falls under Article 50 disclosure duties.

Frequently asked questions

How much does Pictory cost in 2026?

Checked 9 September 2026: Starter $25 a month billed annually or $29 monthly, Professional $35 or $59, Team $119 or $199, Enterprise custom. The advertised 40% annual saving holds for Professional (40.7%) and Team (40.2%) but not Starter, which saves 13.8%. There is no free plan, only a trial.

What is the real limit on a Pictory plan, video minutes or AI credits?

AI credits, for anything generative. Professional annual advertises 7,200 video minutes and 12,000 credits. At 20 credits per second those credits buy 10 minutes of Veo 3.1 a year — 0.14% of the video allowance. Even stock avatars, the cheapest generative option at 15 credits per 30 seconds, yield only 400 minutes, or 5.6%. The video-minute figure describes stock-footage output, which costs no credits.

Do Pictory AI credits roll over?

Credits do; the other two meters do not. Pictory states unused credits "roll over to the next cycle" and purchased credits "never expire" while your subscription is active — added in June 2026 for "eligible subscription plans", which Pictory does not enumerate. Video minutes renew on the 1st of each month, and premium voice minutes reset on the 1st with unused minutes explicitly not rolling over.

Is Pictory's annual plan worth it?

On Professional, unusually so. Annual is exactly 12x monthly on every meter and tier bar one: Professional annual gives 12,000 credits a year against 500 a month monthly — 1,000 a month, double. So it cuts the price 40.7% and doubles the credits at once. Starter and Team annual buy the same credits per month as monthly billing.

Is it cheaper to generate Veo 3.1 through Pictory or through Google directly?

Google, at every rate we could compute. Pictory charges 20 credits per second for Veo 3.1 at 1080p; at its cheapest marginal credit rate of about $0.0398 that is roughly $0.80 a second against Google's $0.40 list — about 2x. Veo 3.1 Fast is worse at roughly $0.40 against $0.12, about 3.3x. The markup buys Pictory's editor and stock library, not cheaper model access.

Does Pictory's Starter plan include ElevenLabs voices?

Pictory's own pages contradict each other, so verify first. The pricing page's Starter card advertises 720 ElevenLabs minutes a year (60 monthly). The voiceover-quota help article says Premium ElevenLabs voices are "exclusively available to users on Professional and Teams plans" and that Starter users can preview but not apply them. The two pages also disagree in the opposite direction about standard voices.

Source links

Related CartSignal pages

AI video category · Best AI video tools · Best AI avatar video tools · HeyGen alternatives · Google Veo · Kling AI · Runway · Descript · VEED · Fliki · HeyGen · Synthesia · ElevenLabs · EU AI Act labeling · AI-readable feed