CartSignal
Public-data comparison · Updated 2026-09-17

ElevenLabs vs Murf for AI voiceover

These two do not sell the same thing, and the difference is the meter. ElevenLabs bills the script going in — every character you generate spends credits, so the price of a finished voiceover is settled before you press generate. Murf bills the audio coming out — Voice Generation Time is the duration of the speech it produces, so the same script costs whatever it happens to run to. Priced on both, a 1,000-word script is about $0.91 on ElevenLabs Creator billed annually and $0.95 or $1.45 on Murf Creator billed annually, depending on which of Murf's own two published speaking rates you believe.

An hourglass of green sand lit by a desk lamp, with a long coiled strand of green glass beads winding across the dark desk beside it
ElevenLabs profileMurf profileFull voice shortlist

Quick verdict

Review type: Public-data comparison, not hands-on testing. No claim is made about which voices sound better. ElevenLabs plan prices and credit rules were read off its official pricing pages on 17 September 2026; Murf's metering rules, API rate and carry-forward terms come from its own help centre the same day. Every dollar figure below is CartSignal arithmetic on those published rates.

Buy ElevenLabs if you want the bill to be a property of the script rather than the performance, you need voice cloning below an enterprise contract, or you will move work to an API later.

Buy Murf if you iterate on delivery rather than copy, you want a studio timeline that syncs narration to slides and video, or you narrate fast and dense enough to beat the crossover below.

Disclosure: neither tool carries an affiliate relationship in the local CartSignal data. Both links above are plain profile pages.

Two meters, two different questions

Almost every ElevenLabs-versus-Murf article lines the plan prices up side by side. That comparison is not wrong so much as incomplete, because the two vendors are not selling the same unit.

ElevenLabs is explicit in its pricing FAQ: "Each text character you generate consumes credits, with the exact cost depending on the model used." One credit is one character on its standard models. Paste a script in and the cost is already determined — how slowly the voice reads it, how many pauses it takes, which accent it uses, none of that moves the number.

Murf meters the opposite end. Its help centre defines the unit as "Voice generation time (VGT) is calculated as the sum of the generated speech lengths for every sub-block", consumed when you "render a newly created sub-block or modify text in an existing sub-block". The quantity you buy is finished audio. A script that runs long costs more than the same script read briskly.

This is the same input-versus-output split that separates Descript from VEED in the video directory, where one bills footage going in and the other bills video coming out. It has the same consequence: which tool is cheaper is partly a property of how you work, not of either price list.

Murf's own help centre gives two answers

To price a script on Murf you need a speaking rate. Murf publishes one — and then publishes a second, different one, in the same article.

  • The worked example: a 500-word script that generates an audio file of 4 minutes 34 seconds, with 4:34 deducted from the balance. That is about 109 words a minute.
  • The estimation guideline: "A 1,000-word English script would consume ~ 6 minutes of VGT." That is about 167 words a minute.

The gap is not decorative. Run the same 1,000-word script under each and you consume either 6.0 minutes or 9.13 minutes of your allowance — 52% more under the article's own example than under the article's own guideline. On Creator's stated two hours a month, that is the difference between about 20,000 words of narration and about 13,100.

Murf qualifies the guideline by noting that real duration varies with the script, the voice and the speed setting, which is fair. But both numbers are offered for planning, and a buyer sizing a plan has no way to know which one describes their work until after they have spent the minutes finding out. For what it is worth, the guideline pace matches ElevenLabs' published equivalence almost exactly — its API pricing page shows "10,000" characters against "~10 min", and at a conventional six characters per word that is 167 words a minute too. The outlier is Murf's own example.

What a 1,000-word script costs

One unit conversion is needed to compare a character meter with a minute meter, and it is stated here rather than buried: 6,000 characters per 1,000 words, the standard English average of five letters plus a space. That figure is also what makes ElevenLabs' and Murf's two guidelines agree on pace, which is a reasonable check on it.

Plan or rateMeterCost per 1,000 words
Murf API, pay as you go$0.03 / 1,000 chars$0.18
ElevenLabs API — Flash, Turbo, v3 Conversational$0.05 / 1,000 chars$0.30
ElevenLabs API — v3, Multilingual v2$0.10 / 1,000 chars$0.60
ElevenLabs Pro, annual$82.50/mo, 600,000 credits$0.83
ElevenLabs Creator, annual$18.33/mo, 121,000 credits$0.91
Murf Creator, annual — at 167 words/min$19/mo, 2 hours$0.95
ElevenLabs Pro, monthly$99/mo, 600,000 credits$0.99
ElevenLabs Starter, annual$5/mo, 30,000 credits$1.00
ElevenLabs Creator, monthly$22/mo, 121,000 credits$1.09
ElevenLabs Starter, monthly$6/mo, 30,000 credits$1.20
Murf Creator, annual — at 109 words/min$19/mo, 2 hours$1.45

Two things stand out. The whole subscription field is compressed — every studio row lands between $0.83 and $1.45, a spread of 1.7x, so on price alone these products are close enough that metering behaviour matters more than the headline plan. And both vendors' own developer APIs undercut every subscription they sell, by 2.8x to 8x. That is the same pattern the per-character ranking of the voice field found across fifteen vendors: what is expensive is the packaging, not the speech.

The crossover: where the answer flips

Because Murf's cost per minute is flat at $0.158 on Creator annual and ElevenLabs' cost per character is flat, there is an exact speaking rate at which the two are identical. Below it ElevenLabs is cheaper; above it Murf is.

ElevenLabs planBreak-even pace vs Murf Creator annual
Starter, monthly~132 words/min
Creator, monthly~145 words/min
Starter, annual~158 words/min
Pro, monthly~160 words/min
Creator, annual~174 words/min
Pro, annual~192 words/min

That band — roughly 132 to 192 words a minute — is not an exotic range. It covers ordinary conversational delivery at the bottom and a brisk explainer read at the top. Which is to say the answer to "which is cheaper" changes inside the normal range of human speech, and it changes again depending on which ElevenLabs tier you are on. Anyone who tells you one of these tools is simply cheaper than the other has not specified the pace.

Usefully, Murf's two published densities sit on opposite sides of most of that band: at its example pace of 109 words a minute, ElevenLabs is cheaper on every tier here; at its guideline pace of 167, Murf beats ElevenLabs Starter and the monthly tiers but still loses to Creator and Pro billed annually.

The second render is where Murf wins

The pricing tables above assume you generate each script once. Nobody does. And this is where the two meters stop being merely different and start being genuinely unequal.

Murf's help centre states the rule plainly: "modifying the generated speech using a different voice actor, style, pitch, speed, pause, emphasis, pronunciation, punctuation, and volume for the same text will not consume any voice generation time." Editing the words re-charges the block. Changing the performance does not. Auditioning a finished script across eight voices costs exactly one render.

ElevenLabs has no equivalent rule, because it cannot: each generation is a fresh pass over the characters and each pass consumes them. Run the same 1,000-word script through eight voices on Creator annual and you spend 48,000 credits — about $7.27, against $0.95 on Murf.

The break-even is startling once you compute it. One Murf render costs between 0.95 and 1.75 ElevenLabs generations across the tiers here. In plain terms: on every plan compared, the moment you render a script a second time, Murf is cheaper.

Two honest qualifications. Short voice previews on ElevenLabs only spend the characters in the preview, so browsing voices is not expensive — the cost lands when you re-render a finished long-form script end to end. And Murf's concession covers delivery only; rewriting the copy re-charges the sub-block on Murf exactly as it does on ElevenLabs. If your iteration is editorial, the advantage disappears. If it is about performance — which voice, which pace, which emphasis — it is decisive.

Rollover: closer than expected

Both vendors let unused allowance carry, both cap it at one cycle, and both destroy it if you leave.

RuleElevenLabsMurf
Carry forward"Unused credits roll over for up to two months — up to 2× your monthly quota"Remaining VGT carries to "the immediately following month"; annual carries to the immediately following year
CapTwice the monthly quotaOne cycle only; it does not stack beyond the next
On cancellationAccount drops to Free and "any unused paid credits will expire""If a subscription is canceled, any carried-forward VGT will be lost"
On pausingNot stated on the pages checkedCarried-forward VGT is retained until the plan resumes

This is a better outcome than much of the field. Synthesia credits reset with no accumulation at all, and Fliki's do not carry either. Against that, a two-month ElevenLabs buffer and a one-cycle Murf buffer both make lumpy production schedules survivable. Murf's pause provision is the one genuinely distinctive clause, and it is worth knowing about if your work is seasonal.

The APIs swap the meters round

Murf sells two different products under one brand and they do not share a unit. Murf Studio bills minutes; the Murf API bills characters, at "1000 characters at $0.03 (minimum purchase amount is $2)", with three API keys, a concurrency limit of 15 and a 10,000 requests-per-minute rate limit. A Studio subscription does not include API characters, so this is a second purchase rather than a cheaper door into the first.

At $30.00 per million characters the Murf API is 40% below ElevenLabs' cheapest API rate of $50.00 per million for Flash, Turbo and v3 Conversational, and 70% below the $100.00 rate for v3 and Multilingual v2. It is also the only place Murf will sell you a character rather than a minute.

Murf's real-time engine widens the gap inside its own catalogue. Murf publishes Falcon at 1 cent a minute; Murf Studio on Creator annual works out at $0.158 a minute. Same vendor, same unit, no conversion needed — and a 15.8x spread. The two are different products aimed at different jobs, Falcon being built for live agents rather than produced narration, but the comparison needs no assumptions at all, which is rare on this site.

ElevenLabs runs the same shape: its API prices Flash and Turbo at a quarter of what its Starter subscription charges per character. If the work is programmatic, neither vendor wants you on a studio plan. The four-way breakdown by job — narration, dubbing, agents and transcription — is on best AI voice tools.

What each plan actually includes

FactorElevenLabsMurf
Entry paid tierStarter $6/mo, $5 annual, 30,000 creditsCreator from $19/mo annual, 2 hours of VGT; $29/mo reported for Creator Lite
Free tier10,000 credits a month, no commercial licence10 minutes of voice generation, 2 projects, 1 editor
Commercial licenceFrom Starter"We provide full commercial usage rights for audio created with our text-to-speech converter"
Voice cloningInstant from Starter, Professional from CreatorOffered in "20+ languages, dialects, and accents"; no plan tier stated on the pages checked
Voices and languages29 languages on Multilingual v2, 32 on Flash v2.5"200+ lifelike voices", "35 languages", "10+ accents"
Per-request limit5,000 chars on v3, 10,000 on Multilingual v2, 40,000 on Flash v2.5Not stated on the pages checked
APIIncluded with paid plans; separate cheaper rate cardSeparate purchase, separate meter
Annual discountExactly 16.67% on every tier — ten months for twelveAdvertised, but the pricing page rendered no readable figures

The cloning row is the sharpest practical difference. ElevenLabs puts instant cloning inside a $6 plan and professional cloning inside a $22 one. Murf markets cloning across 20-plus languages but states no plan on the pages checked here; third-party reviews consistently report it as an enterprise-only feature, which CartSignal notes as reported rather than verified. If a cloned voice is the reason you are shopping, that gap is worth an hour of due diligence before committing.

What could not be verified today

Murf's pricing page rendered no readable plan names or prices when fetched on 17 September 2026 — the third consecutive CartSignal check to find the same thing. The $19/month annual Creator price and its two-hour allowance are carried from the CartSignal Murf profile, recorded from that page on 30 August 2026. Monthly rates are now corroborated by a first-party source rather than trackers alone: Murf's own blog, dated 20 August 2026, lists "Creator... Lite: $29 per user per month", "Plus: $49 per user per month", "Business... Lite: $99 per user per month" and "Plus: $199 per user per month". That is a four-tier Lite/Plus structure Murf's help centre does not use — it names Creator, Growth and Business — so plan names disagree across Murf's own surfaces, and no monthly allowance is published anywhere CartSignal could read. Every Murf per-word figure above therefore uses the annual Creator plan only.

Which one to buy

Choose ElevenLabs if you want a bill you can quote before you generate; if you need voice cloning without an enterprise conversation; if the work will eventually move to an API, where its own rate card is four times cheaper than its subscriptions; or if your delivery is slow, deliberate or pause-heavy, which its meter ignores entirely.

Choose Murf if you iterate on performance rather than copy, where free re-renders make it cheaper from the second pass onwards; if you want a studio timeline that syncs narration against slides and video rather than a text box; if you narrate at a fast, dense pace; or if you are building agents, where Falcon at a cent a minute is a different order of price from either studio.

Choose neither if the job is dubbing existing footage or running a live voice agent. Those are separate rate cards with separate winners: what AI dubbing costs per minute ranks thirteen dubbing rates and finds the dedicated dubbing product is the most expensive way to buy a dubbed minute, and Cartesia and Deepgram hold the cheap end of the agent minute. Before you publish anything either tool produces, the licence you actually hold is set out in commercial use rights for AI voice and video.

Frequently asked questions

Is ElevenLabs or Murf cheaper?

It depends on your speaking pace, because they bill different quantities. A 1,000-word script is about $0.91 on ElevenLabs Creator annual — fixed, whatever the audio runs to — and $0.95 or $1.45 on Murf Creator annual depending on whether it plays for six minutes or nine. The break-even falls between roughly 132 and 192 words a minute across ElevenLabs tiers.

How does Murf Voice Generation Time work?

It is the duration of the audio Murf generates, summed across every sub-block, deducted when you render new text or change existing text. Changing the voice, style, pitch, speed, pause, emphasis, pronunciation, punctuation or volume for the same text consumes nothing.

Why do Murf's help pages disagree about script length?

One article carries both a worked example at about 109 words a minute and a planning guideline at about 167. The same script consumes 52% more of your allowance under the first than the second, and Murf does not reconcile them.

Does either allowance roll over?

Both do, for one cycle. ElevenLabs rolls credits over up to two months, capped at twice the monthly quota. Murf carries unused VGT to the immediately following month, or year on annual plans. Both are lost if you cancel.

Is this comparison based on hands-on testing?

No. It is a public-data comparison. Rates and rules are quoted from official pricing pages and help centres checked on 17 September 2026, and the dollar figures are CartSignal arithmetic on those published rates at a stated six characters per word. No claim is made about voice quality.

Sources

Related CartSignal pages

ElevenLabs · Murf · ElevenLabs alternatives · Best AI voice tools · All AI voice tools · Cartesia · Speechify · AI dubbing cost